MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF AUSTRALIAN INSTITUTE OF INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS – (QLD) INC.

Held at Holding Redlich, Level 1, 300 Queen St, Brisbane on Tuesday, October 10, 2023

- 1. Welcome The Chairman, AIIA Queensland President Paul Lucas, opened the meeting at 5.06 pm and thanked members present for their attendance
- 2. Apologies and attendance record

Attendance: Paul Lucas, David Costello, Raj Guruswamy, Graeme Kerridge, Diana McCluskey, Louise Moeller, Luke Crouch, Charlie Shandil, Tao Chen, Melissa Price, Popi Sotiriadou, Kasper Kuiper, Colin Forrest, Bharat Ray Poudel, Reimen Hii, Ingrid Valladares

Apologies: Geoffrey Ewing

3. Minutes of 2022 AGM

- Motion "That the Minutes of the 2022 AGM be adopted as a true and correct record of the proceedings".
 - 1. Moved Reimen Hii
 - 2. Seconded Graeme Kerridge

CARRIED

4. Reports:

- a. President Paul Lucas
 - Motion "That the President's Report be accepted".
 - 1. Moved David Costello
 - 2. Seconded Diana McCluskey

CARRIED

- b. Financial Muthuraj Guruswamy Treasurer
- c. Auditor [Anthony Bryen & Co]
 - Motion "That the Financial Report be accepted".
 - 1. Moved Muthuraj Guruswamy
 - 2. Seconded Reimen Hii

CARRIED

- 5. Appointment of Auditor
 - Motion "That Anthony Bryen and Co be appointed to audit the AIIAQ books for the 2023/24 year".
 - 1. Moved Muthuraj Guruswamy
 - 2. Seconded Graeme Kerridge

CARRIED

- 6. <u>Election of the Executive Council of Australian Institute of International Affairs –(QLD) Inc.:</u>
 - a. President
 - b. Treasurer
 - c. 4 Ordinary Councillors

In accordance with the rules of the AIIAQ Inc. nominations for vacant positions on the AIIA Queensland Executive Council closed at 5pm Tuesday 26 September 2023. The number of the nominations for the positions for available vacancies was received.

nominations for the positions for available vacancies was received President: 1. Paul Lucas □ Nominated by Reimen Hii □ Seconded by Kasper Kuiper Treasurer 1. Muthuraj Guruswamy □ Nominated by Graeme Kerridge □ Seconded by David Costello Ordinary Councillors (4 to be elected) 1. Colin Forrest □ Nominated by Reimen Hii □ Seconded by Paul Lucas 2. Reimen Hii □ Nominated by Angus Watson

☐ Seconded by Paul Lucas

3. Graeme Kerridge

my
my
•

In accordance with Rule 19 there being the required nominations for the number of vacant positions, there shall be no further nominations from the floor of the AGM and the motion will be that each of the above be elected unopposed to the relevant position

Motion "That the above nominees be declared elected to the positions".

- 1. Moved Muthuraj Guruswamy
- 2. Seconded Diana McCluskey

CARRIED

7. General Business

a. Resolution Recommended by The Council

[Special Resolution Required by Virtue of the Associations Incorporation Act section 48¹ and passed by a ¾ majority of those present.²

"That existing rule 18 be amended by a new Rule 18 as follows:

- Insert 18 (1) "f. Not more than 2 Co-opted Councillors."
- Insert at the beginning of 18 (3) "With the Exception of Co-opted Councillors."
- Insert a new 3A "(3A) (a) At its first meeting after each AGM the Council may appoint up to 2 Co-opted Councillors. These Councillors shall be chosen by Council in order to augment its diversity, expertise, or experience.
 - (b) Each Co-opted Councillor shall hold office until the first meeting of the Council after the subsequent AGM unless they earlier resign or otherwise vacate office."

[See attachment for explanatory details of resolution]

- Motion "That the proposed Rule amendments be adopted as a Special Resolution".
 - 1. Moved Paul Lucas
 - 2. Seconded Graeme Kerridge

CARRIED

¹ Section 48(1) "An incorporated association may, by special resolution, decide to amend its rules."

² Section 3(4) – a special resolution is "....a resolution has been passed at the meeting by the votes of 3/4 of the members who are present and entitled to vote..."

8. Meeting Close.		
The meeting closed at 5.22pm		
Minutes confirmed as a true and	correct record.	
		•
Honorary President		Date