## Australian Institute of International Affairs – (Qld) Inc.

## Minutes of Annual General Meeting held at Holding Redlich on Tuesday, September 13, 2022

- 1. The Chairman, AIIA Queensland President Paul Lucas, opened the meeting at 5.07 pm and welcomed and thanked all those members present for their attendance.
- **2. Present:** Paul Lucas (chair), David Costello, Colin Forrest, Raj Guruswamy, Graeme Kerridge, Ben Colter, Kasper Kuiper, Luke Crouch, Ingrid Valladares, Popi Sotiriadou, Peter Duffy, Louise Moeller. The attendance constituted a quorum in accordance with the Rules.
- **3. Minutes:** Moved **Raj Guruswamy**, seconded **David Costello**, that the Minutes of the 2021 AGM, as circulated, be approved. **Carried.**
- **4. President's Report:** The President thanked councillors for their efforts over the past year. He said he would circulate the report to members by email following the AGM
- **5. Financial Report:** The Financial Report for the year ended 30 June 2022 was made available by Treasurer Raj Guruswamy and circulated to members before the meeting. It was moved by **Raj Guruswamy**, seconded **Kasper Kuiper**, that the report be accepted. **Carried**.
- **6. Appointment of Auditor:** It was moved by **Raj Guruswamy**, seconded **Colin Forrest**, that Anthony Bryen & Co Chartered Accountants be appointed as auditors of Australian Institute of International Affairs (Qld) Inc. **Carried** 
  - **7. Election of Office Bearers:** David Costello (Secretary) noted that nominations for Vice-President, Secretary, and four Ordinary Councillors had been received. There being no other nominations the following nominees were declared elected unopposed:

Vice-President: Diana McCluskey

Secretary: David Costello

Ordinary Councillors (2-year term): Kasper Kuiper, Popi Sotiriadou,

**Ingrid Valladares** 

Ordinary Councillor (1-year term): Reimen Hii

It was moved **Raj Guruswamy**, seconded **Colin Forrest**, that the election of the above be approved. **Carried** 

Council members to continue, having been elected in 2021 for a twoyear period, are

President: Paul Lucas

Treasurer: Raj Guruswamy

Ordinary Councillors: Charlie Shandil, Graeme Kerridge, Colin

**Forrest** 

8. **General Business:** Colin Forrest said he had been in contact with the office of Jose Ramos-Horta, the President of Timor-Leste. The office was now awaiting a formal invitation for Dr Ramos-Horta to speak to AIIA Queensland

The meeting was closed at 5.18 pm.